top of page

The Chippewa County Road Commission was formed as a result of the passage of Act 283 of 1909, which still exists today and is the main law governing road commission policy.  Our territory extends from Whitefish Point to Drummond Island.  We maintain 1,284 miles of county roads and have an agreement with the Michigan Department of Transportation to maintain 527 lane miles of State highway.


We are governed by a 3 member board which is appointed by the Board of Chippewa County Commissioners and serve for 6 year terms. One of the three appointment positions expires every 2 years. We currently have 65 full time employees.


Our office staff consists of 6 individuals working in the main office in Sault Ste. Marie and 3 regional foreman who are in charge of overseeing the crews when performing general maintenance and road construction.


Chippewa county is the 2nd largest county East of the Mississippi River and is the only county in Michigan with 3 islands inhabited year-round with full time ferry service.


We have 8 satellite garages located in Eckerman, Rudyard, Brimley, Sugar Island, Pickford, Neebish Island, Goetzville and Drummond Island.           

For more information regarding Michigan's Road Commissions please                  

Committed to serving the residents of Chippewa County
Other links that may be helpful:

© 2024 by Chippewa County Road Commission.  Proudly created with

bottom of page